Chateau_Raousset_vignes.jpg
Logo_Chateau-de-Raousset_noir_or.png

The Beaujolais terroirs

Logo_Chateau-seul_or.png

The soil, a natural heritage

Renowned all over the world, the Beaujolais vineyards derive their extraordinary richness from the diversity of their terroirs. Despite a relatively small acreage (compared with other French wine-growing regions), Beaujolais offers its 12 appellations a wide variety of soils that make it blossom.

Château de Raousset's vines grow in the northern part of the vineyard, wherever the predominantly granitic soil puts its seal on the ten Beaujolais wines.

 

A unique geology

The morphology of the hillsides where the ten Beaujolais wines mature tells a story. That of the great Romanèche rift valley that separated the plain of Bresse from the Beaujolais hills during the Tertiary era.

 

The hills se Beaujolais are situated on the dividing line between these two areas. The granitic soil created by slow erosion since the end of the Tertiary (66 to 2.6 million years BC) form a quality breeding ground for growing vines.

Carte-Geologique_beaujolais.png
 

The Fleurie topsoil for its part is characterized by typically reddish-pink granitic coarse sand, more commonly known as “pink granite”, which is the distinctive feature of this terroir. Fleurie wines, delicate and silky, are termed the most feminine of the Beaujolais vintages.

The Morgon terroir is very different from the other two. On the gentle east-facing slopes of Mont de Py, its soil is rich in decomposed granitic shale, iron oxide and manganese. This distinctive terroir gives the vintages it produces remarkable qualities: potent, dense and full-bodied wines that form the identity of Morgon.

vendangeur_fleurie.jpg
 Learn more about the wines
Vignes_Gamay.jpg
raisins-vendanges.jpg
Logo_Chateau-seul_or.png

The Château's wines

The Château's vines extends over three Beaujolais terroirs: Chiroubles, Morgon and Fleurie. Albeit adjacent, these three terroirs are characterized by very distinctive topography and orientation, the soil, temperature and growing conditions of which enable each of these terroirs to assert itself differently.

The Château's vines extends over three Beaujolais terroirs: Chiroubles, Morgon and Fleurie. Albeit adjacent, these three terroirs are characterized by very distinctive topography and orientation, the soil, temperature and growing conditions of which enable each of these terroirs to assert itself differently.

Raisins_Gamay.jpg
Raousset_Fleurie_Grille-Midi.png

Chateau_Raousset_vignes.jpg
Logo_Chateau-de-Raousset_noir_or.png

Terres de Beaujolais

Logo_Chateau-seul_or.png

Les sols, un héritage naturel

Réputé dans le monde entier, le vignoble du Beaujolais tire son extraordinaire richesse de la diversité de ses terroirs. En effet, malgré une surface relativement restreinte (comparée aux surfaces des autres vignobles français), le vignoble Beaujolais offre à ses 12 appellations des sols très différents pour s’épanouir.

 

Les vignes du Château de Raousset grandissent dans la partie septentrionale du vignoble, là où les sols à dominante granitique frappent de leur sceau les dix crus du Beaujolais.

 

Un peu de géologie…

La morphologie des coteaux sur lesquels s’épanouissent les dix Crus du Beaujolais nous raconte une histoire. Celle de la grande faille de Romanèche qui, durant l’ère tertiaire, a séparé la plaine de la Bresse des monts du Beaujolais.

 

Les coteaux du Beaujolais se situent à la frontière entre ces deux espaces. Les sols granitiques issus du lent travail de l’érosion depuis la fin du tertiaire (- 2,6 millions d’années avant J.C.) constituent un terreau de qualité pour la croissance des vignes.

Carte-Geologique_beaujolais.png
 

Les sols du cru Fleurie, quant à eux, sont caractérisés par des arènes granitiques d’une teinte rouge-rosée typique, que l’on nomme plus communément le « granit rose » et qui font la particularité de ce terroir. Les vins de Fleurie, fins et soyeux confèrent à ce cru le qualificatif de plus féminin des crus du Beaujolais.

Le terroir du cru Morgon est très différent des deux autres. Exposé à l’est sur les pentes douces du Mont de Py, son sol est riche en schistes granitiques décomposés, chargés d’oxyde de fer et de manganèse. Ce terroir particulier confère aux millésimes qui en sont issus des qualités remarquables : des vins puissants, denses et charnus qui forment l’identité du cru Morgon.

Découvrez les vins
Vignes_Gamay.jpg
raisins-vendanges.jpg
Logo_Chateau-seul_or.png

Les Crus du Château

Les vignes du Château s’étendent sur trois des crus du Beaujolais : Chiroubles, Morgon et Fleurie. Ces trois crus, pourtant voisins, jouissent de topographies et d’expositions bien distinctes dont les conséquences sur les sols, les températures et les conditions de culture permettent à chacun de ces terroirs de s’exprimer différemment.

Le terroir de Chiroubles, berceau du Château de Raousset, présente un gradient d’altitude très élevé, de 250 à 450 mètres et une bonne exposition. Les sols, en fortes pentes (de 20 à 30 %), sont très peu argilisés, sableux et peu profonds et laissent fréquemment affleurer la roche. Les vins issus d’un tel terroir sont généralement fruités, légers et peu chargés en tanins.

Raousset_Fleurie_Grille-Midi.png